Shortlist for approval
Support Materials Qualification Specification Adaptations

NCFE Level 3 Certificate in Coding Practices

Information and Communication Technology
Registration and Certification Fee

Level 3
Minimum entry age

About this qualification?

The purpose of the NCFE Level 3 in Coding Practices is to provide learners with sector awareness. It will provide the learner with a chance to develop knowledge and skills relating to coding practices with the view to seeking employment or proceeding to further study in this area.

Who is it suitable for?

Those looking to consolidate their knowledge of coding and learn practical skills which can be used to seek work or proceed into study at Level 4.

What are the entry requirements?

Learners should have completed a Level 2 qualification in either IT or Coding.

How is this qualification structured?

To be awarded the Level 3 Certificate in Coding Practices, learners must successfully complete 5 mandatory units.

How is it assessed?

Internally assessed and externally quality assured portfolio of evidence.

What related qualifications can you progress to?

Learners who achieve this qualification could progress to:

• Level 4 Certificate in IT
• Level 4 Diploma in Software Development
• Software Development Technician apprenticeship.

Funding for our qualifications

Find out more about funding for this and other qualifications on our funding page.

Qualification Specification
LessMore info Download

This document contains everything you need to know about this qualification and should be used by everyone involved in its planning, delivery and assessment.

Qualification Factsheet
LessMore info Download

This document outlines the key information of this qualification for the centre, learner and employer.

Learner Overview
LessMore info Download

This document contains all the information learners need to know if they’re considering taking an Advanced Learner Loan to complete this qualification.

Support Handbook
LessMore info Download

This document contains supporting information that relates to NCFE and CACHE qualifications to assist in planning, delivery and assessment, and must be used alongside the Qualification Specification.

Mandatory units

  1. Coding Requirements and Planning (M/618/0976)
  2. Understand Coding Design (A/618/0978)
  3. Implementation of Coding (F/618/0979)
  4. Software Testing (T/618/0980)
  5. Understand Deployment, Maintenance and Configuration Management (A/618/0981)

Internal assessments will go ahead in 2021/22, therefore moving away from results being based on Teacher Assessed Grades (TAGs) used in 2020 to 2021, where this has been permitted. Students need to prepare a portfolio of evidence. We encourage centres to review our guidance on the types of evidence, and evidence capture, that we permit including e.g. the use of video, photos and other digital means of demonstrating knowledge and skills.

For further information please see the 2021/22 adaptation addendum document below.

2021-22 AT 60357939 V1.0
LessMore info Download

Pathway to progression

View Large

Search for our qualifications using the search bar below.